History of CVCHRD

The Regional Health Research Development Committee (RHRDC) in Region 7 was formally organized on September 17, 1985 through a consultative meeting held among health research institutions in the region. The main objective of establishing the committee was to link together health researchers and institutions in the region as well as to facilitate health research activities attuned to the regional health needs.  Also, the committee assisted the Philippine Council for Health Research and Development (PCHRD) in establishing mechanisms to strengthen health research capabilities, encourage resource sharing between institutions and promoted the dissemination and utilization of health research results in the region.

In November 1990, the RHRDC 7 was registered as a Foundation at the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) to generate funds/resources for the implementation of its health R & D activities. The RHRDC-7 became RHRDF-7 Inc., and envisioned itself to be the key catalyst in the provision of health research necessary for the equitable delivery of health services and economic well being of the people in the region.  In support of the vision, the Foundation developed and maintained a network of institution from various sectors of society cooperating in the conduct of quality health research which is supportive of the policies of the Philippine National Health Research System (PNHRS) through joint commitment, sharing of resources and collaborative working relationships.  

The member institutions of the RHRDF-7 Inc., then were predominantly medical colleges and universities in Region 7.  All of these institutions except for DOH, NEDA and DOST 7 are private in nature.  The following member-institutions were Department of Health-Center for Health Development 7, National Economic Development Authority (NEDA), Department of Science and Technology Region 7, Cebu Institute of Medicine, Southwestern University-MH Aznar Memorial College of Medicine, Cebu Doctors University-College of Medicine, University of San Carlos, Silliman University, UV-V.Gullas College of Medicine and Cebu Medical Society.

RHRDF-7 Inc. renewed its membership every year and officially designated representatives/individuals were nominated to the committee by the heads of the member-institutions.  RHRDF-7 Inc. was operational for more than 10 years with funding support from PCHRD.

In February 2012, the Regional Health Research Development Foundation 7, Inc. was then reorganized and renamed as the Central Visayas Consortium for Health Research and Development (CVCHRD). To date, CVCHRD has 16 member institutions, namely: Cebu Doctors’ University, Cebu Institute of Medicine, Cebu Institute of Technology University, Cebu Medical Society, Cebu Normal University, Commission on Higher Education 7, Department of Health-Center for Health Development (DOH-CHD 7), Department of Science and Technology Region 7, Holy Name University, National Economic Development Authority 7 (NEDA 7), Southwestern University, University of San Carlos, Silliman University, University of Bohol, University of Cebu, and UV-V.Gullas College of Medicine.

CVCHRD continues to coordinate health R&D activities. It persists to promote active involvement of institutions to pursue health research in the region.


Central Visayas Consortium for Health Research and Development 

DOST VII, Sudlon Lahug, Cebu City, 6000, Philippines

(032) 418 9032 / 254 8269


Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm